…there was a fairy tale castle of the most winsome sort that rested on a beautiful parkland and overlooked the cold, shining waters of the Firth of Forth.
It was called Lauriston and it was a lovely castle, full of beauty and grace and it enchanted everyone who visited, both humans and canines alike.
It possessed a splendid 16th century tower house that Sir Archibald Napier of Merchiston built around 1593, and a grand Jacobean-style extension, added in 1827.
The castle eventually went on to boast a remarkable Edwardian interior, filled to the brim by its occupants, The Reids, with their collection of beautiful furniture, tapestries, and fine art. Surely this husband and wife must have set the 20th century Scottish standard with their exquisite taste!
Lauriston’s beauty wasn’t just confined within its thick stone walls, though. Its extensive grounds were also stunning, with croquet lawns, a Japanese garden, and a field of bluebells that in Spring could make one’s heart cry out in joyful praise.
In May, the colors on display were so lively and bright you would have thought God himself tended to the grounds.
It was, to be sure, one of the most beautiful castles in all of Scotland-maybe even in all of the world-and it would continue to capture the hearts and imaginations of locals and visitors alike for years and years to come.
In fact, one couple would even name their puppy after this magical place!