…there was a fairy tale castle of the most winsome sort that rested on a beautiful parkland and overlooked the cold, shining waters of the Firth of Forth.
Lauriston was its name and it was a lovely place – with plenty of towers and flowers and beauty and grace.
The castle enchanted everyone who visited, both humans and canines alike.
The construction of Lauriston Castle began as a 16th century tower house that a fellow named Sir Archibald Napier of Merchiston built sometime around 1593. A grand Jacobean-style extension was added in 1827.
The castle eventually went on to boast a remarkable Edwardian interior, filled to the brim by its occupants – The Reids – with their collection of beautiful furniture, tapestries, and fine art. Surely this husband and wife must have set the 20th century Scottish standard with their exquisite taste!
Lauriston’s beauty wasn’t just confined within its walls, however. The extensive grounds were also stunning – with croquet lawns, a Japanese garden, and a cheery field of bluebells.
In May, the colors on display were so lively and bright you would have thought God himself was the caretaker.
It was, to be sure, one of the most beautiful castles in all of Scotland-maybe even in all of the world-and it would continue to capture the hearts and imaginations of locals and visitors alike for years and years to come.
In fact, one couple would even name their puppy after this magical place!